Tuesday 1/12/2021 1am ET: Feature LP: Everything But The Girl – Walking Wounded (1996)

Walking Wounded is the ninth studio album by British musical duo Everything but the Girl. It was released on May 6, 1996 by Atlantic Records in the United States and Virgin Records in Europe. The album saw the group adopting a more electronic and dance-based style, following the success of the remixed version of “Missing” from their previous album, Amplified Heart.

Four tracks from the album were released as singles, including the drum and bass-influenced “Walking Wounded” and the house-influenced “Wrong”, which became top ten hits on the UK Singles Chart, as well as the downtempo track “Single”, which set Tracey Thorn’s emotionally direct vocal against breakbeats, organ and strings, and “Before Today”.

Walking Wounded was reissued by Edsel Records as a two-disc deluxe set on September 4, 2015. On November 8, 2019, the album was re-released on vinyl by Buzzin’ Fly Records.

1. “Before Today” 4:18
2. “Wrong” 4:36
3. “Single” 4:38
4. “The Heart Remains a Child” 3:50
5. “Walking Wounded” 6:05
6. “Flipside” 4:33
7. “Big Deal” 4:29
8. “Mirrorball” 3:27
9. “Good Cop Bad Cop” 4:54
10. “Wrong” (Todd Terry remix) 4:45
11. “Walking Wounded” (Omni Trio remix) 6:43

Tracey Thorn – vocals
Ben Watt – acoustic guitar, vocals, abstract sounds, beats, synthesizer, production, programming, recording