Monday 1/11/2021 1:00am ET: Feature LP: Mazzy Star – So Tonight That I Might See (1993)

So Tonight That I Might See is the second studio album by American alternative rock band Mazzy Star, released on October 5, 1993.

The album’s first track, “Fade into You”, became the band’s first and only single to make the Billboard Hot 100 chart, peaking at number 44, and also charted at number 48 on the UK Singles Chart.

In a highly positive review, Steve Hochman of the Los Angeles Times called So Tonight That I Might See “far more narcotic and hypnotic than anything the whole techno-trance universe has digitally blipped up to date.” NME described it as an “even more lustrous, becalmed work” than She Hangs Brightly, later placing it at number 44 on its year-end list of the best albums of 1993. Lorraine Ali of Rolling Stone was more critical, writing that the album’s initially intriguing qualities grow “increasingly monotonous”, while Robert Christgau of The Village Voice dismissed the album as a “dud”.

AllMusic critic Ned Raggett retrospectively wrote that So Tonight That I Might See “remains the group’s undisputed high point, mixing in plenty of variety among its tracks without losing sight of what made the group so special to begin with”. In 2010, Pitchfork listed the track “Fade into You” at number 19 on its list of the top 200 tracks of the 1990s. In 2018, the website ranked So Tonight That I Might See second on its list of the 30 best dream pop albums.

1. “Fade into You” 4:55
2. “Bells Ring” 4:32
3. “Mary of Silence” 6:02
4. “Five String Serenade” 4:24
5. “Blue Light” 5:10
6. “She’s My Baby” 4:25
7. “Unreflected” 3:42
8. “Wasted” 5:31
9. “Into Dust” 5:36
10. “So Tonight That I Might See” 7:19

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.