Tuesday 12/22/2020 6pm ET: Feature LP: Taylor Swift – Evermore (2020)

Evermore is the ninth studio album by American singer-songwriter Taylor Swift. It was released on December 11, 2020, through Republic Records, less than five months after Swift’s eighth studio album, Folklore (2020). Evermore is a “sister record” to its predecessor, both being surprise albums announced hours before release.

As a product of Swift’s extended collaboration with her Folklore producer Aaron Dessner, Evermore is an alternative rock and chamber rock album that expands on its predecessor’s indie/folk sound, featuring guest appearances from American bands Bon Iver, Haim, and the National. Its lyrical themes generally revolve around love, marriage, infidelity, and noir, detailed in form of impressionist storytelling and interlacing narratives. The album received universal acclaim from music critics, who praised its character dynamics and experimental production, with many dubbing it a contrasting companion to Folklore. Evermore reached number-one in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Opening atop the Billboard 200, Evermore made Swift the first woman in US history to amass eight number-one debuting albums. All 15 of the album’s tracks entered the Billboard Hot 100 in the same week, with the lead single, “Willow”, becoming her seventh number-one hit on the chart; Swift became the first act to simultaneously debut atop both Billboard 200 and Hot 100 charts twice. She also broke the record for the fastest female artist to collect six number-one albums in the UK. Republic Records reported more than a million copies of Evermore sold in its first week globally.

1. “Willow” 3:34
2. “Champagne Problems” 4:04
3. “Gold Rush” 3:05
4. “‘Tis the Damn Season” 3:49
5. “Tolerate It” 4:05
6. “No Body, No Crime” (featuring Haim) 3:35
7. “Happiness” 5:15
8. “Dorothea” 3:45
9. “Coney Island” (featuring the National) 4:35
10. “Ivy” 4:20
11. “Cowboy like Me” 4:35
12. “Long Story Short” 3:35
13. “Marjorie” 4:17
14. “Closure” 3:00
15. “Evermore” (featuring Bon Iver) 5:04