Wednesday 11/4/2020 1am ET: Feature LP: Paul Young – The Secret of Association (1985)

The Secret of Association is the second studio album by the English singer Paul Young. Released March 25, 1985, it reached number one on the UK album charts and the Top 20 in the US. The album spawned the hit singles “Every Time You Go Away” (a #1 hit in the US and #4 in the UK), “I’m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down” (#9 UK, #13 US), “Everything Must Change” (#9 UK, #56 US), and “Tomb of Memories” (UK #16).

The album has been certified Double Platinum (600,000 copies sold) by the BPI in the UK,[2] and Gold (500,000 copies sold) in the US by the RIAA

“Bite the Hand That Feeds” 4:29
“Everytime You Go Away” 4:24
“I’m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down” 5:06
“Standing on the Edge” 4:32
“Soldier’s Things” 6:20
“Everything Must Change” 5:34
“Tomb of Memories” 5:42
“One Step Forward” 3:15
“Hot Fun” 3:52
“This Means Anything” 3:41
“I Was in Chains” 4:26
“Man in the Iron Mask” 3:13

“I’m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down (special extended mix)”
“Everything Must Change (12″ mix)”
“Give Me My Freedom”
“Everytime You Go Away (12″ mix)”
“Tomb Of Memories”
“Man in the Iron Mask”
“Bite the Hand That Feeds (live at Hammersmith Odeon)”
“No Parlez (live at Hammersmith Odeon)”

Paul Young – vocals, arrangements
Mark Pinder – drums, electronic drums, percussion
Marc Chantereau – percussion
Pino Palladino – bass guitar
Steve Bolton, John Turnbull – guitar
B. J. Cole – pedal steel guitar
Ian Kewley – keyboards, programming, Hammond organ, piano, arrangements
Matt Irving – bass guitar
Laurie Latham – effects, arrangements
Paul Nieman – trombone (5)
Nick Payn – saxophone (7)
“Big” Jim Paterson – trombone (9)
Graham Preskett – violin (11)
Mark Feltham – harmonica (11)
Jimmy Chambers, George Chandler, Chris Difford, Ged Doherty, Tony Jackson, Kim Lesley, Maz Roberts, Glenn Tilbrook – backing vocals