Saturday 10/31/2020 12am ET: Feature LP: Dire Straits – Making Movies (1980)

Making Movies is the third studio album by British rock band Dire Straits released on October 17, 1980 by Vertigo Records internationally, Warner Bros. Records in the United States and Mercury Records in Canada. The album featured the single “Romeo and Juliet,” which reached #8 on the UK Singles Chart. The album reached #1 on album charts in Italy and Norway, #19 in the United States and #4 in the United Kingdom. Making Movies was later certified platinum in the United States and double-platinum in the United Kingdom.

1. “Tunnel of Love” 8:11
2. “Romeo and Juliet” 6:00
3. “Skateaway” 6:40

1. “Expresso Love” 5:12
2. “Hand in Hand” 4:48
3. “Solid Rock” 3:19
4. “Les Boys” 4:07

Mark Knopfler – vocals, guitar
John Illsley – bass guitar, vocals
Pick Withers – drums, vocals

Roy Bittan – keyboards
Sid McGinnis – guitar (uncredited)