Thursday 10/29/2020 11:30pm ET: Feature LP 2020: Gorillaz – Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez (2020)

Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez is the seventh studio album by British virtual band Gorillaz, released on October 23, 2020. The album is released as part of Gorillaz’ Song Machine project, a web series consisting of a collection of singles and music videos, dubbed “episodes” each featuring different guest artists. The album incorporated a wide range of genres, including punk rock, bossa nova, synth-pop, electronic, and downtempo. The album marked the return of the character Murdoc Niccals in promotional material, after his absence from The Now Now in 2018. The record has been met with general acclaim by music critics, and has been considered by many to be a worthy, albeit dissimilar album in the band’s discography.

1. “Strange Timez” (featuring Robert Smith) 3:47
2. “The Valley of the Pagans” (featuring Beck) 3:01
3. “The Lost Chord” (featuring Leee John) 4:03
4. “Pac-Man” (featuring Schoolboy Q) 3:12
5. “Chalk Tablet Towers” (featuring St. Vincent) 3:02
6. “The Pink Phantom” (featuring Elton John and 6lack) 4:13
7. “Aries” (featuring Peter Hook and Georgia) 4:13
8. “Friday 13th” (featuring Octavian) 3:35
9. “Dead Butterflies” (featuring Kano and Roxani Arias) 4:33
10. “Désolé (Extended version)” (featuring Fatoumata Diawara) 5:33
11. “Momentary Bliss” (featuring Slowthai and Slaves) 3:41
12. “Opium” (featuring EarthGang) 6:50
13. “Simplicity” (featuring Joan As Police Woman) 2:44
14. “Severed Head” (featuring GoldLink and Unknown Mortal Orchestra) 3:34
15. “With Love to an Ex” (featuring Moonchild Sanelly) 3:00
16. “MLS” (featuring JPEGMafia and Chai) 3:14
17. “How Far?” (featuring Tony Allen and Skepta) 2:46

Damon Albarn – vocals
Jamie Hewlett – artwork, character design, video direction
Remi Kabaka Jr – drum programming, percussion, drums