Wednesday 10/14/2020 1am ET: Feature LP: Bon Jovi (1984)

Bon Jovi is the self-titled debut studio album by American rock band Bon Jovi, released on January 21, 1984. Produced by Tony Bongiovi and Lance Quinn, it is significant for being the only Bon Jovi album in which a song (“She Don’t Know Me”) appears that was not written or co-written by a member of the band. The album charted at No. 43 on the U.S. Billboard 200.

Aside from the hit song “Runaway”, songs from the album were rarely performed live after Bon Jovi released Slippery When Wet in 1986. However, on the band’s 2010 Circle Tour, songs including “Roulette”, “Shot Through The Heart” and “Get Ready” were performed. The album was ranked the 11th best rock album of 1984 by Kerrang! magazine. The song “Shot Through the Heart” should not be confused with the much better-known “You Give Love a Bad Name” from Slippery When Wet.

1. “Runaway” 3:50
2. “Roulette” 4:38
3. “She Don’t Know Me” 3:58
4. “Shot Through the Heart” 4:16
5. “Love Lies” 4:06
6. “Breakout” 5:20
7. “Burning for Love” 3:51
8. “Come Back” 3:56
9. “Get Ready” 4:07
11. “Runaway (Live Le Zenith 1988)” 5:18
12. “Roulette (Live BBC Friday Rock Show)” 5:39
13. “Breakout (Live Super Rock ’84)” 6:26
14. “Get Ready (Live Japan Tour 1985)” 7:04

Jon Bon Jovi – vocals, guitar
Richie Sambora – guitar, vocals
Alec John Such – bass, vocals
Tico Torres – drums, percussion
David Rashbaum – keyboards, vocals

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.