Saturday 10/10/2020 12am ET: Feature LP: Genesis – …And Then There Were Three… (1978)

…And Then There Were Three… is the ninth studio album by the English rock band Genesis. It was released in March 1978 by Charisma Records and is their first recorded as a trio of singer/drummer Phil Collins, keyboardist Tony Banks, and bassist/guitarist Mike Rutherford following the departure of guitarist Steve Hackett. The album marked a change in the band’s sound, mixing elements of their progressive rock roots with shorter material, and Collins contributing to more of the group’s songwriting.

The album received mixed reviews from critics, but reached No. 3 on the UK Albums Chart and No. 14 on the US Billboard 200. The lead single “Follow You Follow Me” became their highest charting at that point, reaching No.  7 in the UK and No.  23 in the US. The album was certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) in 1988 for selling one million copies in the US. To further promote it, Genesis toured worldwide with their new live guitarist Daryl Stuermer. The album was remixed in 2007 as part of the Genesis 1976–1982 box set in 5.1 surround sound and a new stereo mix by Nick Davis.

1. “Down and Out” 5:28
2. “Undertow” 4:47
3. “Ballad of Big” 4:51
4. “Snowbound” 4:31
5. “Burning Rope” 7:10

1. “Deep in the Motherlode” 5:16
2. “Many Too Many” 3:32
3. “Scenes from a Night’s Dream” 3:30
4. “Say It’s Alright Joe” 4:21
5. “The Lady Lies” 6:08
6. “Follow You Follow Me” 4:01

Tony Banks – keyboards
Phil Collins – drums, percussion, vocals
Mike Rutherford – basses, guitars