Saturday 9/5/2020 6pm ET: Tina Turner Collection (Part 4)

Live In Paris – Olympia 1971 is a live album by R&B duo Ike & Tina Turner released by United Artists Records and Liberty Records in Europe.

By 1971, Ike & Tina Turner had incorporated rock songs into their repertoire and mainly performed covers of recent hits. They performed songs by the Beatles and the Rolling Stones, while still remaining true to their R&B and soul roots with covers like “Respect” by Otis Redding and “I Want To Take You Higher” by Sly and the Family Stone. In January 1971, Liberty Records released the single “Proud Mary” from the album Workin’ Together to coincide with Ike & Tina Turner’s French tour. The tour included dates at the Olympia in Paris. The concert on January 30, 1971 was recorded and released as a double album in Europe later that year. The album was arranged by Ike Turner and produced by Eddie Adamis. It peaked at number 25 in Germany.

1. “Grumbling” 1:07
2. “You Got Me Hummin'” 4:00
3. “Everyday People” 2:13
4. “Shake A Tail Feather” 2:13
5. “Gimme Some Loving”/”Sweet Soul Music” 3:39
6. “Son Of A Preacher Man” 2:45

1. “Come Together” 3:30
2. “Proud Mary” 8:48
3. “A Love Like Yours Don’t Come Knocking Everyday” 3:37

1. “I Smell Trouble” 10.00
2. “Respect” 3:55
3. “Honky Tonk Women” 2:05

1. “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long” 7:15 (Not Included)
2. “I Want To Take You Higher” 4:45
3. “Land Of 1000 Dances” 4:47