Friday 9/4/2020 4pm ET: RadioMax Special – Tina Turner Collection (Part 3)

Come Together is a studio album by R&B duo Ike & Tina Turner and their backing vocalists the Ikettes, released on Liberty Records in May 1970.

Following Ike & Tina Turner’s tour with the Rolling Stones in November 1969, the duo began incorporating rock songs into their repertoire. Due to the receptive public response of their live performances, a studio version of the Beatles’ “Come Together” was released on Minit Records in December 1969. It peaked at No. 57 on the Billboard Hot 100 and No. 21 on the Billboard Soul Singles chart. Due to the success of the single, they were promoted to Minit’s parent label, the more mainstream Liberty Records. Their second single, “I Want to Take You Higher” by Sly and the Family Stone was released in May 1970. It peaked at No. 34 on the Billboard Hot 100 and No. 25 on the Billboard Soul Singles chart.

The track “Evil Man” was originally recorded as “Evil Woman” by the band Crow, more famously remembered for the version Black Sabbath released in January 1970. Ike & Tina Turner’s recording is gender swapped, describing a man rather than a woman.

The album peaked at No. 13 on the Billboard Soul LP’s chart and at No. 130 on the Top LP’s chart.

1. “It Ain’t Right (Lovin’ To Be Lovin’)” 2:34
2. “Too Much Woman (For A Henpecked Man)” 2:31
3. “Unlucky Creature” 2:25
4. “Young And Dumb” 2:50
5. “Honky Tonk Women” 3:30
6. “Come Together” 3:37

1. “Why Can’t We Be Happy” 3:49
2. “Contact High” 2:16
3. “Keep On Walkin’ (Don’t Look Back)” 2:07
4. “I Want To Take You Higher” 2:51
5. “Evil Man” 3:25
6. “Doin’ It” 2:41


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.