Thursday 9/3/2020 2:30 pm ET: RadioMax Special: Tina Turner Collection (Part 2)

Part 2 of The Tina Turner Collection  – This installment features . . 

The Hunter is a studio album by R&B duo Ike & Tina Turner released on Blue Thumb Records in October 1969.

The Hunter is one of their most blues-oriented albums which came during the blues revival period of the late 1960s. The title track is an Albert King song, and the album was recorded with electric blues guitarist Albert Collins. Collins played on the track “Bold Soul Sister.” Collins was not credited on the album to avoid a possible conflict of interest lawsuit because he was signed to Imperial Records.

“The Hunter” was the lead single, released in June 1969. It reached No. 37 in the Billboard R&B Singles chart and No. 93 in the Billboard Hot 100 chart. The second single “I Know” missed the Hot 100 chart at No. 126. However, the B-side “Bold Soul Sister” charted at No. 59 on the Hot 100 and No. 22 on the R&B chart. The album peaked at No. 176 in the Billboard Top LPs and No. 49 on the Billboard R&B albums chart. In 1971, after Ike and Tina had left the Blue thumb label a third single “You Don’t Love Me (Yes I Know)” was released in France.

1. “The Hunter” 6:33
2. “You Don’t Love Me (Yes I Know)” 2:54
3. “You Got Me Running” 2:59
4. “Bold Soul Sister” 2:36

1. “I Smell Trouble” 3:44
2. “The Things I Used To Do” 3:14
3. “Early In The Morning” 3:01
4. “You’re Still My Baby” 2:47
5. “I Know” 2:31


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.