Wednesday 8/26/2020 12am ET: Feature LP: Icehouse – White Heat – 30 Hits

White Heat: 30 Hits is a two-disc compilation album released by Australian band Icehouse on August 29, 2011 in Australia. While it is technically their third best-of compilation, following 1989’s Great Southern Land and 1992’s Masterfile (not counting a singles box set released in the mid-1990s that was not widely distributed), it is the first such compilation spanning the band’s entire career, including both their early- to mid-1980s hits and material from their most commercially successful period, beginning with the Man of Colours album.

The album presents the band’s complete singles catalogue, all in chronological order, with 15 tracks on each disc. There is also a 3-disc edition which includes a DVD featuring all 32 of the band’s music videos, also in chronological order. The DVD contains a 5.1 mix in Dolby Digital AC-3.

The compilation was announced on July 7, 2011, in a press release by Universal Music.

Following the release of the Flowers Icehouse 30th Anniversary edition earlier this year, I was overwhelmed by the incredible amount of support and enthusiasm there was out there for the entire Icehouse catalogue. Many of the requests for what to put out next focused around some of the compilations we had released in the past.

I looked at the past sets and realised that there had never been a collection of every single we’d ever released throughout the history of the band nor a DVD compilation of every clip so that’s what we decided to do. Our criteria for the inclusion of tracks was that they had to have been released somewhere in the world as a single AND have had a clip made for them (in a couple of cases, two clips!). (Iva Davies, speaking in the press release).

The album artwork was designed by Sydney design studio Debaser, and features the laser cage in which Iva Davies performed in during the band’s time as Flowers. This can be seen in the “Flowers Folio” section of the band’s website. The tracks were remastered by Steve Smart at Studios 301 Mastering.

The album was certified platinum in Australia in 2014.

1. “Can’t Help Myself” (as Flowers) 3:10
2. “We Can Get Together” (as Flowers) 3:46
3. “Walls” (as Flowers) 4:22
4. “Icehouse” (as Flowers) 4:24
5. “Love in Motion” (original single mix) 3:40
6. “Great Southern Land” 5:16
7. “Hey, Little Girl” 4:25
8. “Street Cafe” (single mix) 4:12
9. “Glam” (single version) 3:22
10. “Taking the Town” 3:34
11. “Don’t Believe Anymore” 5:17
12. “Dusty Pages” (single version) 4:03
13. “No Promises” 4:40
14. “Baby, You’re So Strange” 3:58
15. “Mr Big” 3:31

1. “Cross the Border” 4:23
2. “Crazy” 3:23
3. “Electric Blue” 4:24
4. “My Obsession” 4:09
5. “Man of Colours” 5:12
6. “Nothing Too Serious” 3:27
7. “Touch the Fire” 3:48
8. “Jimmy Dean” 3:42
9. “Big Fun” 4:00
10. “Miss Divine” 4:20
11. “Anything Is Possible” 4:20
12. “Satellite” 4:19
13. “Big Wheel” 4:27
14. “Invisible People” 6:11
15. “Love in Motion” (with Christina Amphlett) 4:41