Tuesday 7/28/2020 12am ET: Feature LP: Deep Purple – Perfect Strangers (1984)

Perfect Strangers is the eleventh studio album by the British rock band Deep Purple, released in October 1984. It was the most successful album recorded by the reformed ‘Mark II’ line-up.

It was the first Deep Purple studio album in nine years, and the first with the Mk II line-up in eleven years, the last being Who Do We Think We Are in 1973. Ritchie Blackmore and Roger Glover arrived from Rainbow, Ian Gillan from Black Sabbath, Jon Lord from Whitesnake, and Ian Paice from Gary Moore’s backing band. Just one song in the reformed Deep Purple’s new repertoire, “Nobody’s Home”, would be credited to all five band members. Gillan and Glover, attempted to return matters to the all-for-one credits of the band’s earliest recordings, but Blackmore held firm. It was not until Blackmore left the group in 1993 that the issue was finally resolved.

The CD and cassette versions of the album contained the extra track “Not Responsible” (one of few Deep Purple songs with profane lyrics, as the word “fucking” can be heard in the song). The album was remastered and reissued on 22 June 1999 with the bonus instrumental track “Son of Alerik”. The latter had previously been available as a B-side on the single “Perfect Strangers” in 1984.

The album was a commercial success, reaching #5 in the UK charts and #12 on the Billboard 200 in the US. Perfect Strangers was only the second Deep Purple studio album to be certified platinum in the United States, following 1972’s Machine Head. The tour was so successful that the band had to book many additional dates to the U.S. arena tour, as tickets sold out very quickly. Their U.S. tour in 1985 out-grossed every artist that year except Bruce Springsteen.

1. “Knocking at Your Back Door” 7:09
2. “Under the Gun” 4:40
3. “Nobody’s Home” 4:01
4. “Mean Streak” 4:22

1. “Perfect Strangers” 5:31
2. “A Gypsy’s Kiss” 5:14
3. “Wasted Sunsets” 3:58
4. “Hungry Daze” 5:01
5. “Not Responsible” 4:53

10. “Son of Alerik” 7″ Single
11. “Knocking at Your Back Door” 7″ Single