Friday 7/10/2020 12am ET: Feature LP: Everything But The Girl – Amplified Heart (1994)

Amplified Heart is the eighth studio album by British musical duo Everything but the Girl. It was released on June 13, 1994 by Atlantic Records in the United States and Canada, and elsewhere by Blanco y Negro Records. The album was recorded and mixed in London from winter 1993 to 1994.

Primarily an acoustic-driven set, Amplified Heart brought Everything but the Girl to mainstream audiences via the dance remix of the song “Missing”. Ultimately peaking at number 2 on the US Billboard Hot 100 singles chart in early 1996, “Missing” spent more than a year gaining airplay and exposing Everything but the Girl to US and worldwide audiences, leading Amplified Heart to sell upwards of 232,000 copies in the United States, according to Nielsen Sound Scan. It went on to sell over 1,000,000 copies worldwide.

Amplified Heart was reissued in 2012 by Edsel Records as a two-disc deluxe set.

On May 16, 2019, the band’s Twitter account announced a special 25th anniversary pressing of the album on vinyl. Set to be released July 5, 2019, it marks the album’s debut in the vinyl format. The Todd Terry club mix of “Missing” is not on the vinyl as it was added on to later pressings of the CD as a bonus track.

1. “Rollercoaster” 3:14
2. “Troubled Mind” 3:34
3. “I Don’t Understand Anything” 4:25
4. “Walking to You” 3:30
5. “Get Me”  3:34
6. “Missing”  4:06
7. “Two Star” 4:06
8. “We Walk the Same Line” 4:00
9. “25 December” 4:04
10. “Disenchanted” 2:03
11. “Straight Back to You” 4:38
12. “Lights of Te Touan” 2:29
13. “These Days” (live) 3:24
14. “Each and Every One” (live) 3:57
15. “I Don’t Want to Talk About It” (live) 3:13

1. “I Don’t Understand Anything” (home demo) 4:17
2. “Rollercoaster” (home dem) 3:13
3. “Two Star” (home demo) 2:57
4. “Troubled Mind” (home demo) 3:48
5. “We Walk the Same Line” (home demo) 3:46
6. “Richard Says” (home demo) 2:24
7. “Back at Square One” (home demo) 3:31
8. “Two Star” (Harry Robinson’s string arrangement demo) 4:06
9. “Missing” (live) 7:41
10. “Troubled Mind” (live) 4:42
11. “Two Star” (live) 5:23
12. “Walking to You” (live) 3:35
13. “25 December” (live) 4:37
14. “Missing” (Chris & James Full On club mix) 8:35
15. “Missing” (Little Joey remix) 5:03
16. “Missing” (Ultramarine remix) 5:27
17. “Missing” (Todd Terry club mix, Ben Watt’s ‘Blanco-Eternal’ radio edit) 3:54

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.