Tuesday 12am ET: Feature LP: Donovan’s Greatest Hits (1989)

Donovan (born Donovan Philips Leitch, May 10, 1946) is a Scottish singer, songwriter and guitarist. He developed an eclectic and distinctive style that blended folk, jazz, pop, psychedelia, and world music (notably calypso). He has lived in Scotland, Hertfordshire (England), London, California, and since at least 2008 in County Cork, Ireland, with his family. Emerging from the British folk scene, Donovan reached fame in the United Kingdom in early 1965 with live performances on the pop TV series Ready Steady Go!.

Having signed with Pye Records in 1965, he recorded singles and two albums in the folk vein for Hickory Records (US company), after which he signed to CBS/Epic Records in the US – the first signing by the company’s new vice-president Clive Davis – and became more successful internationally. He began a long and successful collaboration with leading British independent record producer Mickie Most, scoring multiple hit singles and albums in the UK, US, and other countries.

His most successful singles were the early UK hits “Catch the Wind”, “Colours” and “Universal Soldier” in 1965, written by Buffy Sainte-Marie. In September 1966 “Sunshine Superman” topped America’s Billboard Hot 100 chart for one week and went to number two in Britain, followed by “Mellow Yellow” at US No. 2 in December 1966, then 1968’s “Hurdy Gurdy Man” in the Top 5 in both countries, then “Atlantis”, which reached US No. 7 in May 1969.

Donovan’s Greatest Hits and More is a compilation album from Scottish singer-songwriter Donovan. It was released in the United Kingdom in September 1989.

“Sunshine Superman” – 4:34
“Wear Your Love Like Heaven” – 2:25
“Jennifer Juniper” – 2:42
“Barabajagal (Love Is Hot)” – 3:19
“Hurdy Gurdy Man” – 3:17
“Epistle to Dippy” – 3:12
“To Susan on the West Coast Waiting” – 3:13
“Catch the Wind” – 5:03
“Mellow Yellow” – 3:41
“There Is a Mountain” – 2:36
“Happiness Runs” – 3:26
“Season of the Witch” – 4:56
“Colours” – 4:12
“Superlungs My Supergirl” – 2:41
“Laléna” – 2:56
“Atlantis” – 5:03
“Preachin’ Love” – 2:40
“Poor Cow” – 2:57
“Teen Angel” – 2:19
“Aye My Love” – 2:03