Wednesday 12am ET: Feature LP: Jethro Tull – Songs From The Wood (40th Anniversary) 2017

Songs from the Wood is the tenth studio album by British progressive rock band Jethro Tull, released February 1977. The album signaled a new direction for the band, who turned to celebrating British pagan folklore and the countryside life in a wide-ranging folk rock style which combined traditional instruments and melodies with hard rock drums and electric guitars.

The album is considered to be the first of a trio of folk rock albums: Songs from the Wood, Heavy Horses (1978) and Stormwatch (1979). An extended title line appears on the album cover: “Jethro Tull – with kitchen prose, gutter rhymes and divers – Songs from the Wood”. The title track contains two of these phrases in its lyrics.

The UK music-paper adverts read: “Jethro Tull present ‘Songs From The Wood’. A new album of Old Magic. Songs From The Wood. It’s inspired by the thought that perhaps nature isn’t as gentle as we’d like to believe. And it takes as its theme the natural and supernatural inhabitants of the woodlands of old England. Warm and friendly, harsh and bitter by turns, it includes ‘Ring Out Solstice Bells’ as well as Tull’s new single ‘The Whistler’ and seven other songs. Find a quiet spot and listen to it soon.”

On May 17, 2017 Jethro Tull released a five disc ‘bookset’ version of Songs from the Wood with a 96-page booklet that includes a track-by-track annotation of the album and its associated recordings by Ian Anderson. It is similar to the band’s other 40th Anniversary reissues, with the first disc containing another Steven Wilson stereo remix followed by ‘associated recordings’ including the previously unreleased “Old Aces Die Hard” and “Working John, Working Joe.” The second and third discs contain 22 previously unreleased live tracks, recorded on the American leg of their 1977 Songs From The Wood Tour, from November 21 (Landover, Maryland) and December 6th (Boston), remixed to stereo by Jakko Jakszyk. The set also includes DVDs.

CD 1:
1. “Songs From The Wood” 4:55
2. “Jack-In-The-Green” 2:31
3. “Cup Of Wonder” 4:34
4. “Hunting Girl” 5:10
5. “Ring Out, Solstice Bells” 3:48
6. “Velvet Green” 6:05
7. “The Whistler” 3:31
8. “Pibroch (Cap In Hand)” 8:35
9. “Fire At Midnight” 2:27
10. “Old Aces Die Hard (previously unreleased)” 8:41
11. “Working John, Working Joe (previously unreleased)” 5:11
12. “Magic Bells (Ring Out, Solstice Bells)” 3:25
13. “Songs From The Wood (unedited master)” 4:53
14. “Fire At Midnight (previously unreleased unedited master)” 2:35
15. “One Brown Mouse (early version)” 3:35
16. “Strip Cartoon” 3:19
17. “The Whistler (US Stereo Single Mix)” 3:32

CD2 Live 1977
1. “Wond’ring Aloud” 2:33
2. “Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day” 4:04
3. “Jack-In-The-Green” 3:14
4. “Thick As A Brick” 13:15
5. “Songs From The Wood” 6:01
6. “Instrumental” 2:27
7. “Drum Solo Improvisation” 4:16
8. “To Cry You A Song” 2:33
9. “A New Day Yesterday” 2:54
10. “Flute Solo Improvisation interpolating – God Rest Ye Gentlemen/Bourée” 8:14
11. “Living In The Past/ A New Day Yesterday (reprise)” 2:32

CD3 Live 1977
1. “Velvet Green” 6:26
2. “Hunting Girl” 5:39
3. “Too Old To Rock ‘n’ Roll: Too Young To Die” 4:16
4. “Minstrel In The Gallery” 5:39
5. “Cross-Eyed Mary” 3:45
6. “Aqualung” 8:32
7. “Instrumental Improvisation” 3:31
8. “Wind-Up” 4:54
9. “Back Door Angels / Guitar Improvisation /Wind Up (reprise)” 7:15
10. “Locomotive Breath” 5:47
11. “Land Of Hope And Glory / Improvisation / Back Door Angels (reprise)” 4:00