Tuesday 4pm ET: Feature Artist – Atlanta Rhythm Section

Atlanta Rhythm Section (or ARS) is an American Southern rock band, formed in 1970 by Rodney Justo (singer), Barry Bailey (guitar), Paul Goddard (bass), Dean Daughtry (keyboards), Robert Nix (drums) and James B. Cobb, Jr. (guitar). The band’s current lineup consists of Daughtry and Justo, along with guitarists David Anderson and Steve Stone, bassist Justin Senker and drummer Rodger Stephan.

Robert Nix (November 8, 1944 – May 20, 2012) was an American drummer best known as a founding member of the band Atlanta Rhythm Section (ARS). A member of ARS from 1971-1979, he co-wrote several of their songs including the top-ten hits “So Into You” and “Imaginary Lover”. He had suffered from diabetes and multiple myeloma, and died at Baptist Memorial Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee from complications following surgery the previous month.

James Barney “J. R.” Cobb Jr. (February 5, 1944 – May 4, 2019) was an American guitarist and songwriter, most notable for co-writing “Spooky” and “Stormy”, among others, as a member of the Classics IV, plus “Champagne Jam” and “Do It Or Die”, among others, as a member of the Atlanta Rhythm Section. J. R. Cobb died of a heart attack on May 4, 2019. He was 75.

R.J. Vealey died on November 13, 1999, of a heart attack at 37.

Ronnie Hammond (born Ronald William Hammond on November 10, 1950) died on March 14, 2011 in Forsyth, Georgia, at age 60 of heart failure.

Paul Goddard died from cancer on April 29, 2014 at age 68.

Buddy Buie, the band’s manager and producer who received songwriting credits on all their albums, died at age 74 on July 18, 2015.