Friday 12am ET: Feature LP: Dire Straits – Private Investigations (2005)

Private Investigations: The Best of Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler is the third compilation album by Dire Straits and British singer-songwriter and guitarist Mark Knopfler, released in 2005 by Mercury and Vertigo internationally, and Warner Bros. in the United States. Named after their 1982 hit single, the album consists of material by Dire Straits, with songs selected from the group’s six studio albums (excluding the 1979 album Communiqué) from 1978 up through the group’s dissolution in 1995. It also features work from the solo career of the group’s singer, songwriter, and guitarist Mark Knopfler, including some of his soundtrack material.

1. “Telegraph Road” 14:20
2. “Sultans of Swing” 5:48
3. “Love Over Gold” 6:18
4. “Romeo and Juliet” 6:00
5. “Tunnel of Love” 8:10
6. “Skateaway” 6:35
7. “Private Investigations” 5:59
8. “So Far Away” 5:07
9. “Money for Nothing” 8:24
10. “Walk of Life” 4:08
11. “Your Latest Trick” 6:29

1. “Calling Elvis” 6:24
2. “On Every Street” 5:03
3. “Going Home” 5:00
4. “The Long Road” 7:21
5. “Why Aye Man” 4:09
6. “Sailing to Philadelphia” 5:53
7. “What It Is” 4:56
8. “The Trawlerman’s Song” 5:02
9. “Boom, Like That” 5:49
10. “Brothers in Arms” 6:57
11. “All the Roadrunning” (featuring Emmylou Harris) 4:49

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.