Tuesday 12am ET: Feature LP: Billie Eilish – When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go? (2019)

When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go? is the debut studio album by American singer and songwriter Billie Eilish. It was released on March 29, 2019, by Darkroom and Interscope Records in the US and Polydor Records in the UK. Eilish co-wrote most of the record alongside her brother Finneas O’Connell, who handled its production. Musically, the album has been characterized as a pop, avant-pop and art pop record, though features several other genre influences including hip hop and industrial music.

Two singles, “You Should See Me in a Crown” and “When the Party’s Over”, were released prior to the album’s announcement, while its third single, “Bury a Friend”, accompanied the record’s pre-order and was met with critical acclaim. These were followed by three more singles: “Wish You Were Gay”, the Billboard Hot 100 number one single “Bad Guy”, and “All the Good Girls Go to Hell”. The singles “Come Out and Play” and “When I Was Older” were included as bonus tracks on the album’s deluxe edition, and the singles “Bitches Broken Hearts” and “Everything I Wanted” were included in the reissue of the album.

Upon its release, When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go? received widespread acclaim from music critics, with many praising its subject matter, songwriting, cohesiveness, and Eilish’s vocal delivery. It was also a commercial success, topping charts in many countries including in the US, Canada and the UK. At the 62nd Annual Grammy Awards, the album won the award for Album of the Year and Best Pop Vocal Album, while “Bad Guy” won Record of the Year and Song of the Year; Finneas also won the award for Producer of the Year, Non-Classical. Eilish embarked on the When We All Fall Asleep Tour in April 2019 to support the record. It will continue on a second leg in 2020, titled Where Do We Go? World Tour.

Apple Music Awards 2019 Album of the Year
Danish Music Awards 2019 Foreign Album of the Year
Grammy Awards 2020 Album of the Year
Grammy Awards 2020 Best Pop Vocal Album
Grammy Awards 2020 Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical
LOS40 Music Awards 2019 Best International Album

1. “!!!!!!!” 0:14
2. “Bad Guy” 3:14
3. “Xanny” 4:04
4. “You Should See Me in a Crown” 3:01
5. “All the Good Girls Go to Hell” 2:49
6. “Wish You Were Gay” 3:42
7. “When the Party’s Over” 3:16
8. “8” 2:53
9. “My Strange Addiction” 3:00
10. “Bury a Friend” 3:13
11. “Ilomilo” 2:36
12. “Listen Before I Go” 4:03
13. “I Love You” 4:52
14. “Goodbye” 1:59

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.