Friday 12am ET: Feature LP: Bob Seger – Ultimate Hits: Rock and Roll Never Forgets (2011)

Ultimate Hits: Rock and Roll Never Forgets is a compilation album by American rock singer–songwriter Bob Seger. The double-disc album was released on November 21, 2011, and contains 26 remastered tracks from throughout Seger’s career, which spans more than four decades. Included are the original mono version of “Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man”, Seger’s first hit with The Bob Seger System from 1968, the classic Christmas song “The Little Drummer Boy” from 1987’s A Very Special Christmas, which makes its first appearance on a Seger album, and previously unreleased cover versions of Tom Waits’ “Downtown Train” and Little Richard’s “Hey, Hey, Hey, Hey (Going Back to Birmingham).” There is also a Walmart exclusive edition that includes the bonus track “Living Inside My Heart,” a song from the soundtrack of the 1986 film About Last Night…, which has also never before been released on any Bob Seger album. Two songs on this compilation album are edited compared to the original releases: “We’ve Got Tonight” is the single edit, which is about one minute shorter than the album version, and “Katmandu” is a newly edited version which omits the second verse, making the song also about one minute shorter compared to the original album version. In the US it was certified gold and platinum in June 2013 by the RIAA.

This compilation is the closest Seger has come to the release of a career-spanning boxed set (usually 3 or 4 compact discs). Seger remains an artist, among those whose careers have spanned decades, who has not released a traditional boxed set of his music.

1. “Old Time Rock and Roll” Stranger in Town, 1978 3:16
2. “Hollywood Nights” Stranger in Town 5:03
3. “Night Moves” Night Moves, 1976 5:25
4. “Mainstreet” Night Moves 3:44
5. “Roll Me Away” The Distance, 1982 4:41
6. “Turn the Page” (Live) Live Bullet, 1976; 5:14
7. “Her Strut” Against the Wind, 1980 3:54
8. “Still the Same” Stranger in Town 3:25
9. “You’ll Accomp’ny Me” Against the Wind 4:01
10. “We’ve Got Tonight” Stranger in Town 3:41
11. “Like a Rock” Like a Rock, 1986 5:58
12. “Fire Lake” Against the Wind 3:34
13. “Tryin’ to Live My Life Without You” (Live) Nine Tonight, 1981 4:09

1. “Rock and Roll Never Forgets” Night Moves 3:54
2. “Against the Wind” Against the Wind 5:34
3. “Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man” Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man, 1968 2:25
4. “The Fire Down Below” Night Moves 4:28
5. “Travelin’ Man” (Live) Live Bullet 4:40
6. “Beautiful Loser” (Live) Live Bullet 3:42
7. “Shakedown” Beverly Hills Cop II Soundtrack, 1987 4:03
8. “Shame on the Moon” The Distance 4:55
9. “Katmandu” (Edited version) Beautiful Loser 5:00
10. “The Little Drummer Boy” A Very Special Christmas, 1987 3:31
11. “Wait for Me” Face the Promise, 2006 3:43
12. “Hey, Hey, Hey, Hey (Going Back to Birmingham)” 2011 2:07
13. “Downtown Train” 3:59

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.