Wednesday 10pm ET: Feature LP: Steely Dan – Citizen Steely Dan (1993)

Citizen Steely Dan is a four-CD box set compilation album by Steely Dan, released in 1993. The set is a collection of all of Steely Dan’s albums (up to 1980) in chronological order, and also contains a non-album single (“FM (No Static at All)”), a non-album B-side (“Bodhisattva (Live)”), a rare compilation track recorded during the sessions for The Royal Scam but released only on the 1978 Greatest Hits (“Here at the Western World”), and a previously unreleased demo of “Everyone’s Gone to the Movies” (a song from their 1975 album Katy Lied).

The set is not, however, a complete compilation of every track released by Steely Dan up to 1993. Missing are both sides of the band’s 1972 debut single (“Dallas” b/w “Sail the Waterway”), neither of which has ever been re-issued on CD. This is due to the band’s dislike of the songs and refusal to allow them to be reissued.

Until 1998, this was the only place to find the remastered versions of the Steely Dan albums. However, because the albums were split up irregularly among the discs (in some cases with the track order changed), the remastered studio albums were issued in 1998, albeit without bonus tracks.

The first pressing features “Rikki Don’t Lose That Number” using the single edit of the song. This version omits the percussive opening for the song. The second pressing of the box set features the version from the album although it was reissued without any information noting the change.

The Original Track order on Aja was the title song, Deacon Blues, and then Peg. Here, it was changed to the title song, Peg, and Deacon Blues.

Glenn Meadows remastered the CD set from the digital masters archived by Donald Fagen, Gary Katz and Roger Nichols in 1982. These digital tapes were prepared because the original analog tapes were in very poor shape. The earliest CD mastering for all the Steely Dan albums in 1985 used these digital tapes but MCA inexplicably used deteriorating analog masters for all later CD pressings until the 1998 remasters. This information was discovered by Nichols in 1991 when he was asked his opinion of the Mobile Fidelity Gold reissues of Aja and Gaucho. Nichols discovered that the “Gaucho CD was even a different speed, about a quarter tone sharper” when compared to the original CD that he was involved in.

The 1993 box set remaster was the first time since the originally issued CDs that the albums used the correct source tape.

1. “Do It Again” Can’t Buy a Thrill (1972) 5:54
2. “Dirty Work” Can’t Buy a Thrill 3:08
3. “Kings” Can’t Buy a Thrill 3:45
4. “Midnite Cruiser” Can’t Buy a Thrill 4:06
5. “Only a Fool Would Say That” Can’t Buy a Thrill 2:55
6. “Reelin’ in the Years” Can’t Buy a Thrill 4:36
7. “Fire in the Hole” Can’t Buy a Thrill 3:26
8. “Brooklyn (Owes the Charmer Under Me)” Can’t Buy a Thrill 4:19
9. “Change of the Guard” Can’t Buy a Thrill 3:38
10. “Turn That Heartbeat Over Again” Can’t Buy a Thrill 4:58
11. “Bodhisattva” Countdown to Ecstasy (1973) 5:17
12. “Razor Boy” Countdown to Ecstasy 3:10
13. “The Boston Rag” Countdown to Ecstasy 3:10
14. “Your Gold Teeth” Countdown to Ecstasy 6:59
15. “Show Biz Kids” Countdown to Ecstasy 5:23
16. “My Old School” Countdown to Ecstasy 5:45

1. “King of the World” Countdown to Ecstasy 5:00
2. “Pearl of the Quarter” Countdown to Ecstasy 3:49
3. “Rikki Don’t Lose That Number” Pretzel Logic (1974) 4:07
4. “Night by Night” Pretzel Logic 3:38
5. “Any Major Dude Will Tell You” Pretzel Logic 3:08
6. “Barrytown” Pretzel Logic 3:19
7. “East St. Louis Toodle-oo” Pretzel Logic 2:48
8. “Parker’s Band” Pretzel Logic 2:43
9. “Through with Buzz” Pretzel Logic 1:32
10. “Pretzel Logic” Pretzel Logic 4:31
11. “With a Gun” Pretzel Logic 2:17
12. “Charlie Freak” Pretzel Logic 2:43
13. “Monkey in Your Soul” Pretzel Logic 2:34
14. “Bodhisattva (Live)” non-album B-side (1980) 7:41
15. “Black Friday” Katy Lied (1975) 3:40
16. “Bad Sneakers” Katy Lied 3:19
17. “Rose Darling” Katy Lied 3:03
18. “Daddy Don’t Live in That New York City No More” Katy Lied 3:13
19. “Doctor Wu” Katy Lied 3:54
20. “Everyone’s Gone to the Movies” Katy Lied 3:44
21. “Chain Lightning” Katy Lied 2:59

1. “Your Gold Teeth II” Katy Lied 4:12
2. “Any World (That I’m Welcome To)” Katy Lied 3:53
3. “Throw Back the Little Ones” Katy Lied 3:13
4. “Kid Charlemagne” The Royal Scam (1976) 4:37
5. “The Caves of Altamira” The Royal Scam 3:32
6. “Don’t Take Me Alive” The Royal Scam 4:14
7. “Sign in Stranger” The Royal Scam 4:21
8. “The Fez” Walter Becker; Donald Fagen; Paul Griffin The Royal Scam 3:58
9. “Green Earrings” The Royal Scam 4:05
10. “Haitian Divorce” The Royal Scam 5:48
11. “Everything You Did” The Royal Scam 3:54
12. “The Royal Scam” The Royal Scam 6:31
13. “Here at the Western World” non-album single, included on Greatest Hits (1978) 4:00
14. “Black Cow” Aja (1977) 5:08
15. “Aja” Aja 8:00
16. “Peg” Aja 3:55

1. “Deacon Blues” Aja 7:33
2. “Home at Last” Aja 5:32
3. “I Got the News” Aja 5:04
4. “Josie” Aja 4:31
5. “FM (No Static at All) (remix)” FM soundtrack (1978) 5:05
6. “Babylon Sisters” Gaucho (1980) 5:48
7. “Hey Nineteen” Gaucho 5:07
8. “Glamour Profession” Gaucho 7:28
9. “Gaucho” Walter Becker; Donald Fagen; Keith Jarrett Gaucho 5:30
10. “Time Out of Mind” Gaucho 4:11
11. “My Rival” Gaucho 4:30
12. “Third World Man” Gaucho 5:14
13. “Everyone’s Gone to the Movies” (Demo)” previously unreleased demo (1975) 3:57