Tuesday 10pm ET: Feature LP: Eurythmics – Ultimate Collection (2005)

Ultimate Collection is the second greatest hits compilation album by the British pop duo Eurythmics. It was released on 7 November 2005 by RCA Records. This set preceded (by one week) the re-issuing of all eight Eurythmics back-catalogue albums originally released by RCA Records. These re-issues include remastered tracks and bonus material. The fact that the Ultimate Collection was closely connected to these re-issues is also the chief reason for the omission of “Sexcrime (Nineteen Eighty-Four)”. While that song gave Eurythmics a No. 4 hit in the UK in 1984 and was later featured on the previous Greatest Hits album released in 1991, it is actually taken from the 1984 Virgin Records soundtrack album 1984 (For the Love of Big Brother), Eurythmics’ only album to date not to be released by RCA Records in the UK.

Unlike 1991’s Greatest Hits, Ultimate Collection contains two previous unreleased songs “I’ve Got a Life” and “Was It Just Another Love Affair?”, recorded on the “Peace” album sessions, and all of the tracks have been remastered. Also unlike the 1991 compilation, Ultimate Collection contains no tracks from the duo’s 1989 album We Too Are One.

One of the new songs, “I’ve Got a Life”, was released as a single. It entered the UK Singles Chart at number 14 and spent three weeks at number one on the Hot Dance Club Play chart in the United States.

Ultimate Collection peaked at No. 5 on the UK Albums Chart and has since been certified triple Platinum by the BPI. It peaked at No. 116 on the US Billboard 200.

1. “I’ve Got a Life” 4:05
2. “Love Is a Stranger” 3:42
3. “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)” 3:36
4. “Who’s That Girl?” 3:44
5. “Right by Your Side” 3:49
6. “Here Comes the Rain Again” 4:51
7. “Would I Lie to You?” 4:26
8. “There Must Be an Angel (Playing with My Heart)” 4:41
9. “Sisters Are Doin’ It for Themselves” (with Aretha Franklin) 4:53
10. “It’s Alright (Baby’s Coming Back)” 3:47
11. “When Tomorrow Comes” 4:15
12. “Thorn in My Side” 4:13
13. “The Miracle of Love” 4:35
14. “Missionary Man” 3:47
15. “You Have Placed a Chill in My Heart” 3:52
16. “I Need a Man” 4:23
17. “I Saved the World Today” 4:26
18. “17 Again” 4:20
19. “Was It Just Another Love Affair?” 3:50

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.