Thursday 12am ET: Feature LP: The Who Hits 50! (2014)

The Who Hits 50! is a compilation of singles by the English rock band The Who, released October 27, 2014 by Polydor Records. The two-disc set contains every single released by the band in the United Kingdom, with the exceptions of: “A Legal Matter” and “La-La-La-Lies” from 1966; and “Long Live Rock” and the remake of “I’m One” from 1979. At the same time it also contains every single by the band released in the United States throughout their career, with the exceptions of: “The Real Me” from 1974; the reissue of “Substitute” from 1976; and “Long Live Rock” from 1979. A condensed single-disc standard edition appeared as well, both versions in conjunction with the band’s 50th anniversary and associated tour of the same name. The album is notable for containing singles generally not included on other compilation albums, such as the band’s Rolling Stones cover “The Last Time” done as an act of solidarity while Mick and Keith were facing jail time, along with other lesser-known singles “Dogs” and “Call Me Lightning”.

The first disc includes every song from the compilation Meaty Beaty Big and Bouncy with the exception “A Legal Matter”, and the second disc includes “Be Lucky”, a track released as a single in support of the compilation and recorded during 2014 sessions for a proposed new studio album. The song is the first new material released by The Who since their 2006 studio album Endless Wire.

The selections were remastered by Jon Astley, and the cover art and packaging reflects the band’s association with the pop art of the 1960s.

1. “Zoot Suit” (billed as The High Numbers) 1:59
2. “I Can’t Explain” 2:05
3. “Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere” 2:43
4. “My Generation” 3:18
5. “Substitute” 3:45
6. “The Kids Are Alright” 3:06
7. “I’m a Boy” 2:38
8. “Happy Jack” 2:14
9. “Boris the Spider” 2:30
10. “Pictures of Lily” 2:44
11. “The Last Time” 2:59
12. “I Can See for Miles” 4:08
13. “Call Me Lightning” 2:19
14. “Dogs” 3:01
15. “Magic Bus” 4:36
16. “Pinball Wizard” 3:03
17. “I’m Free” 2:41
18. “The Seeker” 3:22
20. “See Me, Feel Me” 3:30
21. “Won’t Get Fooled Again” (Single version) 3:40
22. “Let’s See Action” 3:57
23. “Bargain” 5:33
24. “Behind Blue Eyes” 3:42

1. “Baba O’Riley” 5:08
2. “Join Together” 4:22
3. “Relay” 3:52
4. “5:15” 4:48
5. “Love, Reign o’er Me” 5:56
6. “Postcard” 3:27
7. “Squeeze Box” 2:40
8. “Slip Kid” 4:36
9. “Who Are You” 5:14
10. “Trick of the Light” 4:27
11. “You Better You Bet” 5:37
12. “Don’t Let Go the Coat” 3:44
13. “Athena” 3:46
14. “Eminence Front” 5:39
15. “It’s Hard” 3:47
16. “Real Good Looking Boy” 3:55
17. “It’s Not Enough” 4:03
18. “Be Lucky” 3:19

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.