Friday 12am ET: Feature LP: Steve Miller Band – Fly Like An Eagle (1976)

Fly Like an Eagle is the ninth studio album by American rock group Steve Miller Band. The album was released in May 1976 by Capitol Records in the United States, Canada and Japan and Mercury Records in Europe.

The album was a success, spawning three singles: the title track, “Take the Money and Run” and “Rock’n Me”, and eventually receiving quadruple platinum certification from the RIAA.

It was voted number 400 in the third edition of Colin Larkin’s All Time Top 1000 Albums (2000). In 2012, the album was ranked number 445 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

In 2006 the album was re-released to celebrate its 30th Anniversary. The CD is digitally remastered and includes three bonus tracks and a bonus DVD features a concert performance at Mountain View, California’s Shoreline Amphitheater in 2005 with over two hours of music in 5.1 Surround Sound (Note this surround mix is not based on the QUAD mix as track 1 and 6 are not different from the standard releases). Guest musicians include George Thorogood and Joe Satriani. The DVD also features a lengthy interview with Steve Miller, archive footage, never-before-seen photographs, and early demo recordings.

1. “Space Intro” 1:15
2. “Fly Like An Eagle” 4:42
3. “Wild Mountain Honey” 4:51
4. “Serenade” 3:13
5. “Dance Dance Dance” 2:18
6. “Mercury Blues” 3:30
7. “Take the Money and Run” 2:50
8. “Rock’n Me” 3:05
9. “You Send Me” 2:42
10. “Blue Odyssey” 1:00
11. “Sweet Maree” 4:16
12. “The Window” 4:19
13. “Fly Like An Eagle ’73” 4:31
14. “Take The Joker And Run” 3:41
15. “Rock’n Me ’76 Slow” 4:22

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.