Saturday 12am ET: Feature LP: Van Halen – Van Halen III (1998)

Van Halen III is the eleventh studio album by American rock band Van Halen, released on March 17, 1998 by Warner Bros. Records. Produced by Mike Post and Eddie Van Halen, it is the band’s only studio album to feature Extreme lead vocalist Gary Cherone, and the last to feature bassist Michael Anthony before he was replaced in the band by Eddie’s son Wolfgang in 2006. Work on a follow-up album with Cherone commenced in 1999, but never advanced past a few demos.

Van Halen III was the band’s last album for fourteen years, and their final album of the 20th century. It was also the final album the band released on Warner Bros. When they returned in 2012 with A Different Kind of Truth, it was with Interscope Records. It is their longest studio album to date, clocking in at slightly over 65 minutes.

1. “Neworld” (Intro) 1:45
2. “Without You” 6:30
3. “One I Want” 5:30
4. “From Afar” 5:24
5. “Dirty Water Dog” 5:27
6. “Once” 7:42
7. “Fire in the Hole” 5:31
8. “Josephina” 5:42
9. “Year to the Day” 8:34
10. “Primary” 1:27
11. “Ballot or the Bullet” 5:42
12. “How Many Say I” 6:04

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.