Wednesday 12am ET: Feature LP: Stevie Wonder – Songs In The Key Of Life

Songs in the Key of Life is the eighteenth album by American recording artist Stevie Wonder, released on September 28, 1976, by Motown Records, through its division Tamla Records. It was the culmination of his “classic period” albums. The album was recorded primarily at Crystal Sound studio in Hollywood, with some sessions recorded at the Record Plant in Hollywood, the Record Plant in Sausalito, and The Hit Factory in New York City. Final mixing was performed at Crystal Sound.

An ambitious double LP with a four-song bonus EP, Songs in the Key of Life became the best-selling and most critically acclaimed album of Wonder’s career. In 2003, it was ranked number 57 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. In 2005, it was inducted into the National Recording Registry by the Library of Congress, which deemed it “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant”.

1. “Love’s in Need of Love Today” 7:06
2. “Have a Talk with God” 2:42
3. “Village Ghetto Land” 3:25
4. “Contusion” 3:46
5. “Sir Duke” 3:54
6. “I Wish” 4:12
7. “Knocks Me Off My Feet” 3:36
8. “Pastime Paradise” 3:28
9. “Summer Soft” 4:14
10. “Ordinary Pain” 6:23
11. “Isn’t She Lovely” 6:34
12. “Joy Inside My Tears” 6:30
13. “Black Man” 8:30
14. “Ngiculela – Es Una Historia – I Am Singing” 3:49
15. “If It’s Magic” 3:12
16. “As” 7:08
17. “Another Star” 8:28
18. “Saturn” 4:54
19. “Ebony Eyes” 4:09
20. “All Day Sucker” 5:06
21. “Easy Goin’ Evening (My Mama’s Call)” 3:57

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.