Tuesday 1am ET: Feature LP: Rolling Stones – Goats Head Soup (1973)

Goats Head Soup is the 11th British and 13th American studio album by The Rolling Stones, released August 31,1973. Like its predecessor, Exile on Main St., the band composed and recorded much of it outside of the United Kingdom due to tax issues. Goats Head Soup was recorded in Jamaica, United States, and the United Kingdom, and mixed in the United Kingdom and the Netherlands. The album contained 10 tracks, all written by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, including lead single “Angie”, which went to No. 1 as a single in the United States and top 5 in the UK.

The album was the last to be produced by Jimmy Miller, who was a key architect of the Rolling Stones sound during their most acclaimed period which began with 1968’s Beggar’s Banquet. Bass guitarist Bill Wyman only appears on four of the ten tracks of the album, but otherwise the rest of the Rolling Stones, including Mick Jagger (lead vocals, other instruments), Keith Richards (various guitars and backing vocals), Mick Taylor (various guitars and backing vocals), and Charlie Watts (drums), played on every track. In addition to the main band, the standard cadre of Rolling Stones collaborators also played extensively on the album, including saxophonist Bobby Keys, organist Billy Preston, pianists Nicky Hopkins and Ian Stewart, as well as several local Jamaican musicians.

Goats Head Soup received positive reviews and achieved number one chart positions in the UK, US, and several other world markets. The album was remastered and released in 1994 and again in 2009 by Virgin Records and Universal Music respectively.

1. “Dancing with Mr. D” 4:53
2. “100 Years Ago” 3:59
3. “Coming Down Again” 5:54
4. “Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)” 3:26
5. “Angie” 4:33

1. “Silver Train” 4:27
2. “Hide Your Love” 4:12
3. “Winter” 5:30
4. “Can You Hear the Music” 5:31
5. “Star Star” 4:25