Saturday 12am ET: Feature LP: Peter Frampton – Frampton Comes Alive (1976)

Frampton Comes Alive! is a double live album by English rock musician Peter Frampton released January 6, 1976. It is one of the best-selling live albums in the United States. “Show Me the Way”, “Baby, I Love Your Way”, and “Do You Feel Like We Do” were released as singles. All three singles reached the Top 15 on the Billboard Hot 100, and frequently receive airplay on classic rock radio stations. Following four solo albums with little commercial success, Frampton Comes Alive! was a breakthrough for the artist.

Released on January 6, 1976, it debuted on the charts at 191. The album reached number one on the Billboard 200 the week ending April 10, 1976, and was in the top spot for a total of 10 weeks. It was the best-selling album of 1976, selling over 8 million copies in the US and becoming one of the best-selling live albums to date, with estimated sales of 11 million worldwide.

Frampton Comes Alive! was voted “Album Of The Year” in the 1976 Rolling Stone readers poll. It stayed on the chart for 97 weeks and was still No. 14 on Billboard’s 1977 year-end album chart. It was ranked 41 on Rolling Stone’s “Greatest Live Albums of All Time” list.

25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

1. “Introduction/Something’s Happening” – 5:56
2. “Doobie Wah” – 5:43
3. “Lines on My Face” – 6:59
4. “Show Me the Way” – 4:32
5. “It’s a Plain Shame” – 4:03
6. “Wind of Change” – 2:57
7. “Just the Time of Year” – 4:21
8. “Penny for Your Thoughts” – 1:34
9. “All I Want to Be (Is By Your Side)” – 3:08
10. “Baby, I Love Your Way” – 4:41
11. “I Want to Go to the Sun” – 7:15
12. “Nowhere’s Too Far (For My Baby)” – 4:49
13. “(I’ll Give You) Money” – 5:46
14. “Do You Feel Like We Do” – 13:46
15. “Shine On” – 3:29
16. “White Sugar” – 4:43
17. “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” – 7:40
18. “Day’s Dawning/Closing” – 3:34

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.