Tuesday 11pm: Feature LP: Tanya Tucker – While I’m Livin’ (2019)

While I’m Livin’ is the twenty-fifth studio album by American country music singer Tanya Tucker. It was released on August 23, 2019, by Fantasy Records. The album was produced by Brandi Carlile and Shooter Jennings. It is Tucker’s first album in a decade, since 2009’s My Turn, and her first album of original material since her 2002 album, Tanya.

After Tucker’s 2002 album, Tanya, barely broke the top 40 of the country albums chart, she began to retreat from the spotlight. Since 2002, Tucker has only released one studio album, 2009’s My Turn, an album of covers of songs by male country stars she listened to growing up, which was a disaster by Tucker’s standards. She later recalled to Entertainment Weekly that “It should have been called My Sh—y Turn. They didn’t use the final vocals I made. I had no control.” After the release of My Turn, Tucker had more personal and pressing issues to deal with. She began to experience health problems from the chronic fatigue disease Epstein-barr. Both of her parents passed away, leaving her emotionally drained and without management. Tucker’s father had been her manager since the beginning of her career. Tucker recalled this time in her life, saying, “I quit touring. I didn’t have a band. I went out to Malibu and sat in the sun and spent a lot of money.”

Once Tucker decided to come back to the spotlight, she went to various labels only to find that there was little interest. For a while, Shooter Jennings (son of Waylon Jennings) had been casually speaking with her about the possibility of him producing her new album. Plans for a new album really began to speed up once Jennings mentioned to friend and avid Tucker fan Brandi Carlile that he would like for her to write a new song for the album. Carlile and her long-time collaborators, Phil and Tim Hanseroth, wrote nearly an entire album’s worth of material. Jennings told Carlile that since she was such a big Tanya fan, she should co-produce the album with him. Tucker recalled that she was hesitant about recording the album at first, saying, “I didn’t know if the songs were strong enough.”

The album was recorded over three weeks in January 2019, at Sunset Sound in Los Angeles.

1. “Mustang Ridge” 3:37
2. “The Wheels of Laredo” 3:49
3. “I Don’t Owe You Anything” 2:34
4. “The Day My Heart Goes Still” 3:19
5. “High Ridin’ Heroes”  3:27
6. “The House That Built Me” 4:12
7. “Hard Luck” 3:22
8. “Rich” 2:33
9. “Seminole Wind Calling” 3:35
10. “Bring My Flowers 4:20