Tuesday 12am: Number One Albums 2000: Santana – Supernatural

Supernatural is the eighteenth studio album by Latin rock band Santana, released on June 15, 1999 on Arista Records. After the group found themselves without a label in the mid-1990s, founding member and guitarist Carlos Santana began talks with Arista president Clive Davis, who first signed the group in 1969, which led to a new record deal. The pair collaborated with A&R man Pete Ganbarg on the production of Supernatural as Santana wanted to focus his musical direction towards pop and radio friendly material and proceeded to do so by collaborating with various contemporary guest artists, including Eric Clapton, Rob Thomas, Eagle-Eye Cherry, Lauryn Hill, Dave Matthews, Maná, KC Porter and Cee-Lo Green.

Supernatural became a significant commercial success worldwide. It reached No. 1 in eleven countries, including the US for 12 non-consecutive weeks where it is certified 15× Platinum. The first of six singles from the album, “Smooth” featuring Matchbox Twenty singer Rob Thomas, was a number one success worldwide and topped the Billboard Hot 100 chart for 12 weeks. The next, “Maria Maria”, featuring The Product G&B, was number one in the US for 10 weeks. Supernatural has sold an estimated 30 million copies worldwide.

In 2000, the album was the subject of eight Grammy Awards including Album of the Year, making Santana the first Hispanic to do so, and Best Rock Album, tying the record held by Michael Jackson for the most number of awards in a single night. Davis won Album of the Year. Santana also won three Latin Grammy Awards including Record of the Year.

1. “(Da Le) Yaleo” 5:51
2. “Love of My Life” 5:48
3. “Put Your Lights On” 4:47
4. “Africa Bamba” 4:40
5. “Smooth” 4:56
6. “Do You Like the Way” 5:52
7. “Maria Maria” 4:21
8. “Migra” 5:24
9. “Corazón Espinado” 4:32
10. “Wishing It Was” 4:59
11. “El Farol” 4:49
12. “Primavera” 5:17
13. “The Calling” 12:27
14. “Bacalao con Pan” 5:08
15. “Angel Love (Come for Me)” 4:42
16. “Rain Down on Me” 4:01
17. “Corazon Espinado (Spanish Dance Remix)” 8:49
18. “One Fine Morning” (Lighthouse Cover) 5:19
19. “Exodus/Get Up Stand Up (Bob Marley cover)” 6:09
20. “Ya Yo Me Cure” 4:17
21. “Maria Maria (Pumpin’ Dolls Club Mix)” 8:39
22. “Smooth (Instrumental)” 4:56
23. “The Calling Jam” 4:30

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.