Tuesday 10pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70’s – #91 – Linda Ronstadt – Simple Dreams (1977)

Simple Dreams is the eighth studio album by the American rock singer-songwriter Linda Ronstadt, released September 6,1977 by Asylum Records.

The album was such a success that Ronstadt became the first female artist—and the first act overall since The Beatles—to have two singles in the top five at the same time: the Platinum-certified “Blue Bayou” (#3 Pop, #3 Adult Contemporary, and #2 Country) and “It’s So Easy” (#5 Pop). “Blue Bayou” was nominated for the Record of the Year Grammy award in early 1978. It also earned Ronstadt a Grammy nomination for Best Pop Vocal Performance Female, alongside Barbra Streisand, Dolly Parton, Carly Simon and Debby Boone. “It’s So Easy” was originally recorded by Buddy Holly and The Crickets in 1958 but had failed to chart in its original version. It was Ronstadt’s second cover of a Holly song to become a hit in as many years; she had taken a rousing cover of “That’ll Be the Day” to #11 Pop in 1976, using a similar arrangement.

1. “It’s So Easy” 2:27
2. “Carmelita” 3:07
3. “Simple Man, Simple Dream” 3:12
4. “Sorrow Lives Here” 2:57
5. “I Never Will Marry” 3:12

1. “Blue Bayou” 3:57
2. “Poor Poor Pitiful Me” 3:42
3. “Maybe I’m Right” 3:05
4. “Tumbling Dice” 3:05
5. “Old Paint” 3:05

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.