Friday 10pm: Top 100 Albums of the 70’s – #94 – Carpenters – A Song For You (1972)

The Top 100 Albums of The 70’s

#94 – Carpenters – A Song For You (1972)

A Song for You is the fourth studio album by American music duo the Carpenters, released on June 22, 1972. According to Richard Carpenter, “A Song for You was intended to be a concept album (of sorts) with the title tune opening and closing the set and the book-ended selections comprising the ‘song’.”

Six songs were released as A-side singles internationally: “Hurting Each Other”, “It’s Going to Take Some Time”, “Goodbye to Love”, “Top of the World”, “I Won’t Last a Day Without You”, and “Bless the Beasts and Children”.

1. “A Song for You” 4:42
2. “Top of the World” 2:56
3. “Hurting Each Other” 2:46
4. “It’s Going to Take Some Time” 2:55
5. “Goodbye to Love” 3:50
6. “Intermission” 0:22
7. “Bless the Beasts and Children” 3:07
8. “Flat Baroque” 1:45
9. “Piano Picker” 1:59
10. “I Won’t Last a Day Without You” 3:47
11. “Crystal Lullaby” 3:53
12. “Road Ode” 3:50
13. “A Song for You” (reprise) 0:53