Thursday 10pm: The Beatles – Feature LP: Please Please Me (1963)

Please Please Me is the debut studio album by the English rock band the Beatles. Parlophone rush-released the album on 22 March 1963 in the United Kingdom to capitalise on the success of the band’s singles “Please Please Me” (number 1 on most charts, although only number 2 on Record Retailer, later the UK Singles Chart) and “Love Me Do” (number 17). The album topped Record Retailer’s LP chart for 30 weeks, an unprecedented achievement for a pop album at that time.

Of the album’s 14 songs, eight were written by Lennon–McCartney (originally credited “McCartney–Lennon”). Rolling Stone magazine later cited these original compositions as early evidence of the Beatles’ “[invention of] the idea of the self-contained rock band, writing their own hits and playing their own instruments”. In 2012, Please Please Me was voted 39th on Rolling Stone’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.

1. “I Saw Her Standing There” Paul McCartney 2:55
2. “Misery” John Lennon with McCartney 1:49
3. “Anna (Go to Him)” (Arthur Alexander (originally recorded by Arthur Alexander)) Lennon 2:55
4. “Chains” (Gerry Goffin, Carole King (originally recorded by The Cookies)) George Harrison 2:23
5. “Boys” (Luther Dixon, Wes Farrell (originally recorded by The Shirelles)) Ringo Starr 2:24
6. “Ask Me Why” Lennon 2:24
7. “Please Please Me” Lennon with McCartney 1:59

1. “Love Me Do” McCartney with Lennon 2:21
2. “P.S. I Love You” McCartney 2:04
3. “Baby It’s You” (Mack David, Barney Williams, Burt Bacharach (originally recorded by The Shirelles)) Lennon 2:40
4. “Do You Want to Know a Secret” Harrison 1:56
5. “A Taste of Honey” (Bobby Scott, Ric Marlow) McCartney 2:03
6. “There’s a Place” Lennon and McCartney 1:51
7. “Twist and Shout” (Phil Medley, Bert Russell (originally recorded by The Top Notes)) Lennon 2:32

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.