Saturday 7pm: Great Soul Performances & Eugene Pitt Salute by Bobby Jay

“I’m A Happy Man” to have known and loved Eugene Pitt since we were kids in the music business starting in the early 1960s. I’ll be paying tribute to the late lead singer of the Jive Five on “Great Soul Performances” this evening, when I play his outstanding songs recorded with the group and from his first; and now only solo album, “Eugene Pitt’s Steppin’ Out In Front ‘I Love Beach Music’.” You’ll also hear the great work he did in helping to establish Viacom’s children cable network, “Nickelodeon.”

If you’re a Eugene Pitt fan or just curious as to who he was, and what he was all about, this is going to be right up your alley. It begins at 7PM ET, 6PM CT, 5PM MT and 4PM PT.

After that, it’s time for “Great Soul Performances 2: The 80s,” where on the playlist will be: The Main Ingredient, DeBarge, the Four Tops, Richard “Dimples” Fields, the Temptations, B.B. King, Stevie Wonder, Peaches & Herb, Dennis Edwards, Heatwave, Whitney Houston and more. It kicks off at 9PM ET, 8PM CT, 7PM MT & 6PM PT. It’s gonna be a wonderful evening of music and memories, and I hope you’ll join me on the best station on the internet, RadioMaxMusic.Com.

Eugene Sampson Pitt (November 6, 1937 – June 29, 2018) was an American musician and the founding member of The Jive Five. He formed a group with some school friends in 1954 called the Genies, in which he was the lead singer. There were no recordings from this group.

In 1959 he, together with Jerome Hanna, Richard Harris, Norman Johnson, and Billy Prophet formed The Jive Five. Among their classic doo-wop recordings, released on Beltone Records, were “My True Story”, “Never, Never”, and “What Time Is It?”. In 1985, Pitt and The Jive Five were introduced to New York cable TV branding consultants Fred Seibert and Alan Goodman by his latest producer, Ambient Sound’s Marty Pekar. Together, they embarked on an almost ten-year relationship, creating and singing the a cappella signature sound of the American children’s television network Nickelodeon. Terry Stewart, President & CEO of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, called Pitt “the most underrated soul singer in America”.

Pitt’s cousin, Elijah Pitts, was an NFL running back and long-time assistant coach.

Pitt died at the age of 80 on June 29, 2018. – Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.