Great Soul Performances with Bobby Jay – 7pm ET

radiomax blueThis evening on “Great Soul Performances” we will once again pay tribute to another soldier in the Soul/R&B Doo Wop army, the late Bobbie Smith of the Spinners. You’ll hear the Spinners with Bobbie singing lead vocals, from the group’s early years on Harvey Fuqua‘s Tri-Phi record label, through their Motown and Atlantic years. We’ll also play songs by the Beginning Of The End, Barbara Mason, a cut from the new Aaron Neville CD; in fact the title tune “My True Story;” which I sang background on, Blue Magic, Bruno Mars, the Whispers, Jan Bradley and more.

We start at 7PM ET, 6PM CT, 5PM MT & 4PM PT, with an encore performance Monday evening at 10PM eastern. So please join me, won’t you on RadioMaxMusic.com.

I was also saddened to hear of the passing of my long time friend Floyd “Buddy” McRae of the Chords. Buddy said to me at the funeral of Jimmy Keyes, that since he was the last living member of the group, that he was just a “note” because you needed three notes to make a “Chord.” Well now, the last note has sung. R.I.P Buddy. – Bobby Jay

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.