Feature LP: Kid Rock – Born Free (2010) 12pm ET

Robert James “Bob” Ritchie (born January 17, 1971), known by his stage name Kid Rock, is an American singer-songwriter, musician, multi-instrumentalist and rapper with five Grammy Awards nominations. Kid Rock released several studio albums that mostly went unnoticed before his 1998 record Devil Without a Cause, released with Atlantic Records, sold 11 million albums behind the hits, “Bawitdaba”, “Cowboy”, and “Only God Knows Why“. In 2000, he released The History of Rock, a compilation of remixed and remastered versions of songs from previous albums as well as the hit single, “American Bad Ass“.

Born Free, American artist Kid Rock’s eighth studio album, was released on November 16, 2010 with the self titled track being it’s lead single. The album is a rock and roll collaboration produced by Rick Rubin featuring several high profile artists such as, T.I., Sheryl Crow, and Bob Seger. Kid Rock described it as “very organic blues based rock and roll”. This album is Kid Rock’s first to feature no Parental Advisory sticker. Cable network TBS used the title track, “Born Free”, for its coverage of the 2010 Major League Baseball postseason. It was announced on June 16, 2011 that Born Free was certified Platinum by the RIAA for shipments in excess of one million copies. This gives Kid Rock his sixth Platinum album certification in the US.

1. Born Free 5:14
2. “Slow My Roll” 4:19
3. “Care” (featuring Martina McBride and T.I.) (Ritchie, Young, Clifford Harris) 4:12
4. “Purple Sky” (Ritchie, Young, J. Boland) 4:06
5. “When It Rains” 4:46
6. God Bless Saturday 3:35
7. “Collide” (featuring Sheryl Crow and Bob Seger on piano) 4:49
8. “Flyin’ High” (featuring Zac Brown) 4:03
9. “Times Like These” 5:57
10. “Rock On” 5:23
11. “Rock Bottom Blues” 3:51
12. “For the First Time (In a Long Time)” 5:55